Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan (HJUP)

If you have been refused auto insurance because of a less-than-perfect driving record, this may be the plan for you. 

BECAUSE NOT ALL DRIVERS ARE CREATED EQUAL

First Insurance Company of Hawaii (FICOH) provides insurance for drivers with motor vehicle violations through HJUP.

All drivers in the State of Hawaii must have auto insurance in order to legally drive, but for those with less-than-perfect driving records, it is often difficult to obtain.  As Hawaii's largest authorized servicing carrier for the Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan (HJUP), we specialize in providing auto insurance to both commercial and personal drivers with a record of accidents, DUIs or other motor vehicle violations.    


Am I Eligible?

In order to participate in HJUP, you must meet one or more of the following criteria:
  • Drivers whose license has been suspended or revoked within the last three years or have records of auto-related convictions, such as driving without auto insurance.
  • Drivers who have been involved in two or more accidents that resulted in someone's bodily injury or more than $1,000 of property damage in the last three years.
  • Drivers who are on public assistance or are permanently disabled and who want just basic insurance coverage through HJUP.
  • Drivers who have been unable to to obtain at lease minimum auto coverage as required by Hawaii Financial Responsibility laws.
 

What is Mandatory Auto Coverage?

The State of Hawaii mandates minimum auto coverage as outlined below.

Mandatory Coverage

Hawaii Required Min. Limits

Residual Bodily Injury (RBI)

$20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident

Property Damage (PD)

$10,000 per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$10,000 per person per accident

For more information on the HJUP program, please call Darleen Daguro at (808) 527-7464.